Welcome to Joypur Panchanan Roy College. Established in 1986 as a part of the scheme of the West Bengal Government to spread Higher Education in the rural areas of West Bengal, Joypur Panchanan Roy College is situated in the village of Joypur in Amta Block II in the district of Howrah. Joypur is connected by Jhikira-Howrah bus route (L-3) from Howrah, the district headquarters which is at a distance of fifty kms and Joypur-Bagnan bus route from Bagnan which is 21 kms away. The people of Joypur mainly belong to the agricultural community and the area is mainly inhabited by the people belonging to both financially and educationally backward classes. Being situated in the delta of the rivers of the Mundeswari and Damodar, popularly known as the river of sorrow in this part of the land, the area is badly affected by flood almost each year. The waters released from the different dams of the reservoirs seem to be the scourge of the peaceful farmers of this area.

The College at present is located in a campus measuring more than four acres of land and runs the Humanities and Commerce streams. Like most of the small colleges in the rural areas, it has its plus and minus points. New projects are now implemented, new constructions are taking place and with them, we believe, a new era will start for the College.

  • To spread Higher Education in the rural area;
  • To achieve excellence in Humanities and Commerce education ;
  • To enable the students of the rural area to obtain the degrees essential for pursuing post graduate degrees and competitive examinations.
  • To contribute to the over-all development of the rural area by participating in the community activities


To be one of the best colleges in the district of Howrah through a combination of imparting quality education and promoting a sense of human values among the students.

Governing Body

  1. President:  Sri Sukanta Kumar Paul (Govt. Nominee)
  2. Vice President: Sri Susanta Kumar Roy (Founder Donor)
  3. Secretary: Prof. Saumitra Sarkar (ex-officio)
  4. Donor Member: Srimati Sula Roy (Prasad)
  5. Government Nominee: Sri Ramesh Chandra Pal
  6. Teacher Representatives:
    • Dr. Sabita Chakraborty
    • Smritiranjan Pramanik
    • Kumkum Chatterjee
    • Kashinath Pal
  7. University Representatives:
    • Prof. Parthajiy Hazra
    • Prof. Nanda Kishore Misra
  8. Panchayet Samiti Representative: Srimati Mithu Barui (ex-officio)
  9. Non-Teaching Staff Representatives:
    • Sk. Nazrul Haque
    • Md. Hanif Khan
  10. Student Representative: Sri Jitpal Koley

Courses Offered

  • Honours in Bengali, English, History, Education
  • Honours in B.Com. ( Accounting Group )
  • B.A. General : Subjects:- Bengali, History, English, Education, Philosophy, Political Science, Physical Education.
  • B.Com General: Accounting Group

Faculty Members

Principal Dr. Saumitra Sarkar

Dr. Sabita Chakraborty, Associate Professor

  • Kumkum Chatterjee, Associate Professor.
  • Subhas Shit, Assistant Professor.
  • Piyali Pachhal, PTT.
  • Partha Pratim Patra, PTT.
  • Hafija Mullick, PTT.
  • Smritiranjan Pramanik, Associate Professor.
  • Dr. Nargis Tabassum, Assistant Professor.
  • Kaushik Mondal, Assistant Professor.
  • Harisadhan Ghosh, Guest Teacher.
  • Saswati Majumder, Assistant Professor.
  • Puja Banerjee, PTT.
  • Namita Singha, Guest Teacher.
  • Aparna Bandyopadhyay, Assistant Professor.
  • Banani Dolui, Assistant Professor.
  • Sushanta Kumar Mahato, Assistant Professor.
  • Jayashree Pramanik, PTT.
  • Srabani Das, PTT.
Political Science
  • Pahari Sankar Das, PTT
Physical Education
  • Ashek Rosul, Guest Teacher.
  • Mahua Maity, Guest Teacher.
  • Saheb Barui, Guest Teacher.
Accounting Group of Papers
  • Kashinath Pal, Associate Professor.
  • Debika Mukherjee, Associate Professor
  • Manoj Kumar Singh, Assistant Professor.
  • Buddhadeb Ghosh, PTT.
  • Rakesh Prasad Bhagat, PTT.
  • Tusharkanti Mahapatra, PTT.


Non-Teaching Staff Members


1. Head Clerk:  Vacant

2. Cashier : Sk. Nazrul Haque

3. Accountant: Debabrata Roy

4. Clerk: (a) Vacant
               (b) vacant
               (c) Sk. Matiar Rahman
               (d) Vacant

5. Darwan: Md. Hanif Khan

6. Office Bearer: Vacant

7. Library Peon: Vacant

8. Lady Attendant: Chaina Pramanik

Contact Us

Joypur Panchanan Roy College,


(Affiliated to University of Calcutta)

P.O.-Joypur-Fakirdas, Amta-II, Howrah-711401, West Bengal.

e-mail: joypurcollege@yahoo.in

Tel. No.- 03214-234-130/03214-234-455